The residents of Compton Valence can boast that in the days of the Romans it was the place where Dorchester derived its water supply. This small and isolated village is attractively set with luxuriant trees and shrubs. Situated in a hollow of the hills it lies close to the Dorchester - Bridport Roman road.

The church is dedicated to St. Thomas of Canterbury, and although it has a 15th century tower it was rebuilt in 1838 with Bejamin Ferrey as the architect. The nave was lengthened and a north aisle added, and the reconstructed chancel was given an apse-shaped end wall. Portland and Ham stone were used in the re-building and Bath stone was introduced for the pulpit. The Caen stone altar was later replaced by a wooden Communion table.

The brass of c.1440 in the floor by the font is one Thomas Waldron, priest of the parish who was responsible for an earlier rebuilding including the surviving tower. The four bells in the tower are dated 1620, but were all re-cast in 1870, and a modern touch, the 19th century clock was electrified in 1979.

Back
Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private   

by ChangeDetection

2000 The Dorset Page