Wyke Regis has a long and rich history with evidence of human occupation stretching back to the stoneage era some 10,000 years ago. The earliest written record relates to a charter signed by the Saxon King Ethelred II in 988 AD. The name Wyke Regis can be loosely translated as meaning "the farm of the King".

The present All Saints Church was consecrated in 1455 but there were at least two previous churches on the present site. It is an important example of the Perpendicular style of architecture and is still essentially the building as completed in the fifteenth century. Until the 1836 All Saints' was the parish church of Weymouth.

Until the 1890's the people of Wyke earnt their living through farming and fishing. Farming records of the manor exist back to 1243 and fishing has taken place over many centuries off Chesil Beach in the turbulent waters of the English Channel. Many victims of ships wrecked off Chesil Beach are buried in the churchyard, including Captain John Wordsworth, brother of the poet, who was drowned along with 300 others when his ship was wrecked in 1805

In 1891 Robert Whitehead, the inventor of the deadly underwater torpedo, built his Whitehead Torpedo Manufactury at Ferrybridge, Wyke Regis and this resulted in engineering becoming the predominant occupation with a dramatic expansion in house building.

Today Wyke Regis has been absorbed into the much larger Borough of Weymouth and Portland but it still retains its own distinctive character.

Back
Monitor page
for changes
    
   it's private   

by ChangeDetection

2000 The Dorset Page